Very sorry…

but I will be suspending posts on this blog indefinitely. I have had a wonderful time sharing through this blog the Northern Virginia events that I was interested in taking my kids to, and I want to thank all of the readers who sent me messages of condolence after my father died in January.

Following his death and my own upcoming surgery for what is  believed to be a benign breast lump, however, I have reconsidered my priorities and time commitments. I have kept this blog ad-free since its inception and hate the thought of turning it into a newsletter you’d have to pay for. I wouldn’t — that’s why I created this site in the first place. Yes, there are other ways of making money off this type of blog, but I’m not interested in them. If you are, I would be happy to share with you my sources for the events I post, as well as the seasonal activities such as Easter Egg Hunts.

It’s been great, and I wish you and your families all the best.

Therese Howe aka SuperNoVa Mom

a

12 responses to “Very sorry…

  1. Wishing you all the best for your surgery and a speedy recovery.

  2. Thanks for always keeping us informed. Best of luck with the surgery and everywhere life takes you!

  3. I am so sorry to read this. I have really enjoyed your posts and knew that as my 15 month old got older, these news items would really come in handy! If you could send me your sources and/or do one more post listing those, I would very much appreciate it. Thanks for being a truly SUPER NoVaMom!

  4. Very sorry, indeed. Your blog has been such a great resource for local families. Sorry to hear about your pending surgery. If there’s anything we can do to help out, let us neighbors know!!!

  5. I’m so sorry to hear about this 😦 I have enjoyed your blog from the moment we’ve moved to NoVa and your blog will be greatly missed. I do understand about priorities though, especially with a recent loss and your own health concerns to worry about. Take Care!!

  6. I am so sorry that you are taking time away from this, but obviously the circumstances are quite understandable. I would do the same. I would love if I could get some of your resources to where you find all of these fantastic events. I look at your site every week to see what is new. Your event updates will certainly be missed!

    I wish you well and hope that you do someday return!

  7. Hi Therese,
    I am a father of a 1 and 2 year old. I stumbled upon your website a while back and it’s been required reading ever since. Thank you for providing such a wonderful service. I wish you all the best.

    warm regards,
    Tam Nguyen

  8. Your blog has been very instrumental in our family participating and attending many local events over the past 6 months. I will miss your posts. I am not interested in making money…but I would love to know your sources for these family events. Thanks again for everything!!!

    I hope all goes well for you and your family!

    Peace, Maggie

  9. Therese,
    Thank you for the time and effort you have put into this blog to keep us all informed of what’s going on across NoVA. Many times I have found out about cool events to take my kids to that I would have not otherwise known about.

    I’ll be praying for you that your surgery will go well.

    God bless you!

    Kevin

  10. Thank you so much for all of your posts and your commitment to providing all of us a one-stop spot for learning about interesting NoVa activities. I wish you well.

  11. I’m sorry to hear about all the things going on for you. Be well! Thank you for your blog. I’ve found great things on it. Take care.

  12. Your blog will be sorely missed! I completely stopped work on my community calendar when I saw you were doing a more thorough job of it, but will try to step it back up again.
    My condolences on the loss of your father and I will you strength as you deal with your upcoming surgery.
    Thanks for all the time you put into this resource!!!

Leave a Reply

