Philly day trip

Took the kids to Philly yesterday, and despite a 3-hour drive in the rain, it was quite fun! We went to check out the Star Wars exhibit at the Franklin Institute and decided to take in the Adventure Aquarium in Camden, New Jersey, just 5 minutes away over the Ben Franklin Bridge.

We should have made a weekend of it and stayed overnight at a hotel, but I hadn’t prepared for it (i.e. researched the Internet for the best deals) and it’s a short enough drive that I couldn’t see spending the extra money. We spent enough as it was on admissions, parking and food ($200), but we got in free at the Franklin Institute through our Maryland Science Center membership and both places were worth the money and the drive.  

I’ll post an actual page with details on the two attractions in the next day or so, but for now, enjoy the Flickr photos!

2 responses to “Philly day trip

  1. Funny, I remember chatting with you about both of these destinations pre-Spring Break. We visited the Franklin Institute during the break and the kids loved it (although I was a little disappointed in the state of disrepair/disarray of SOME of the hands-on exhibits for kids–missing pieces, etc.). This is probably because I have now been “ruined” by the creme de la creme of children’s museums, the Strong National Museum of Play, in Rochester, which we visited over Winter Break. It’s a hike, but if you are up that way, it is outstanding and not to be missed for toddlers through grade schoolers. One last comment: I did a little googling, and sure enough, my fish-tank obsessed high school pal is still the Curator of Fish and Invertebrates at the Adventure Aquarium in Camden. Talk about finding your niche!

  2. Not a coincidence, Julie, I was inspired to go by our chat! Since then, I had been planning the trip, then when I found out about the Star Wars exhibit, it was a done deal. I had read reviews with similar complaints about some of the hands-on exhibits, but thought the Star Wars exhibit would make up for it, and it certainly did. And now you’ve given me another road trip idea!

Leave a Reply

